Monday, May 20, 2024
HomeNewsAFT Connecticut Members Named to Sandy Hook Advisory Commission

AFT Connecticut Members Named to Sandy Hook Advisory Commission

“It is my honor to represent Newtown educators on this commission,” said Ron Chivinski. “I look forward to working with Chairman Jackson and the other members of the commission to make recommendations, which will help to prevent future tragedies like the one that occurred at Sandy Hook Elementary School.

An initial report will be due to the Governor by March 15, in time for consideration during the regular session of the General Assembly.  The commission’s members are currently developing a meeting schedule, which will be announced as soon as it is available.
The other members of the commission include:
Chairman: Scott Jackson – Mayor, Town of Hamden
Dr. Adrienne Bentman – Director, Adult Psychiatry Residency Program, Hartford Hospital’s Institute of Living
Robert Ducibella – Founding Principal, DVS Security Consulting and Engineering
Terry Edelstein – Nonprofit Liaison to Governor Malloy
Kathleen Flaherty – Staff Attorney, Statewide Legal Services of Connecticut, Inc. / Facilitator and State Trainer, National Alliance for Mental Illness in Connecticut
Dr. Alice M. Forrester – Executive Director, Clifford W. Beers Guidance Clinic, Inc.
Dr. Ezra Griffith – Professor Emeritus of and Senior Research Scientist in Psychiatry, Deputy Chair for Diversity and Organizational Ethics, Department of Psychiatry, Yale University
Christopher Lyddy – Outgoing State Representative, 106th Assembly District of Newtown / Program Manager, Trainer & Consultant, Advanced Trauma Solutions, Inc. / Former Program Director, Youth Equipped for Success!, Forensic Health Services, Inc. / Former Clinical Supervisor, Juvenile Risk Reduction Center, Community Solutions, Inc. [Membership effective January 10, 2013]
Denis McCarthy – Fire Chief, City of Norwalk
Barbara O’Connor – Director of Public Safety and Chief of Police, University of Connecticut
Wayne Sandford – Professor, University of New Haven, Henry C. Lee College of Criminal Justice & Forensic Sciences / Former Deputy Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Emergency Management & Homeland Security / Former Fire Chief, Town of East Haven
Dr. David J. Schonfeld – Director, National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement / Professor, University of Cincinnati Department of Pediatrics
Dr. Harold I. Schwartz – Chief Psychiatrist, Hartford Hospital’s Institute of Living
Bernard R. Sullivan – Former Chief of Police, City of Hartford / Former Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Public Safety / Former Chief of Staff to House Speaker Tom Ritter
Information about the commission can be found on the Governor’s website.


Most Popular