We know that AFT members are heroes who are reclaiming the promise every day, and they deserve our recognition!

AFT Connecticut Awards
IB Image

Each year, AFT Connecticut recognizes a Unionist of the Year and presents the Joseph H. Soifer award at our annual convention. Those honored are nominated by their fellow members and chosen based on their contributions to our union and the labor movement by AFT Connecticut’s Nominations Committee.

Click here for photos of award winners from the AFT Connecticut 2014 Convention.

IB Image

Four AFT Connecticut members have been nominated and chosen by their peers for AFT’s 2014 Everyday Heroes Award. These are hard-working women and men who have made a difference in their workplaces, had a profound and positive impact on their community and whose contributions in their field of work -- and the lives of others -- have been heroic.
Our local “everyday heroes” include Vocational-Technical Schools teacher and CT State Vocational Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 4200-A member Jim Cardin in the Public Employees division. In the Healthcare category, three of our Lawrence & Memorial Hospital unions local presidents were nominated as a block; Lisa D’Abrosca of L&M Hospital Nurses, AFT Local 5049, Stephanie Johnson of L&M Hospital LPN/Techs, AFT Local 5051 and Harry Rodriguez of L&M Healthcare Workers, AFT Local 5123.
Click here for the AFT press release announcing the final results.