Latest Updates

Comments on Permanent Commissioner Selected to Lead CT's Ed. Dept.

Melodie Peters, president of AFT Connecticut, made the following remarks on today's appointment by the Malloy-Wyman Administration of Dianna Roberge-Wentzell to lead the State Department of Education (SDE):

Bipartisan ESEA Bill: A Step Forward

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) reauthorization proposal announced this week shows that, even in the current climate, it's possible to find common ground by listening to teachers, parents and other voices in education. U.S. Sens. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) and Patty Murray (D-Wash.) -- the chair and the ranking member, respectively, of the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) Committee -- on Tuesday unveiled a bipartisan bill reauthorizing the law, known in its current form as No Child Left Behind (NCLB).
Click here for a bill summary from the HELP Committee.

Recognizing National Healthy Schools Day

On the occasion of the 13th annual National Healthy Schools Day, AFT President Randi Weingarten today observed that "our children deserve the best possible learning environments to gain the skills and knowledge they need to succeed in the 21st-century economy. Crumbling school buildings filled with environmental hazards won't cut it."
Click here to learn more about Healthy Schools Day.

Teachers Union Leaders Team Up on ESEA

The presidents of the nation's two largest teachers unions last week offered a shared vision for reauthorization of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) at a Washington, D.C., meeting with state policy chiefs. A day later they reiterated their commitment in a joint keynote address to a nationwide audience of educators participating in Share My Lesson's third annual virtual conference.
Click here to watch the joint keynote presentation.
Syndicate content