

May 19, 2025

The Honorable Ned Lamont Governor of the State of Connecticut 10 Capitol Avenue Hartford, CT 06106

Dear Governor Lamont,

As representatives of Connecticut's public-school teachers and support staff, we write to respectfully urge your support in the current biennial state budget for more robust and equitable school investments. Increasing the Education Cost Sharing (ECS) foundation amount and adopting a 50% weight for special education in its formula would go a long way toward resolving Connecticut's student learning crisis.

Across the state, educators are doing more with less—addressing learning gaps, mental health needs and increased demands in classrooms without the essential resources to match. The current ECS foundation amount underestimates the true cost of educating students today and does not account for the unique and significant needs of those with special needs.

A 50% weight for special education would provide more appropriate and equitable funding for districts, ensuring these students receive the individualized support they are legally entitled to and morally deserve. Without this change, districts must continue to rely on local resources, exacerbating inequality and placing undue strain on struggling communities with limited tax bases.

The disparity in access to support for students in Connecticut's chronically under-resourced districts demonstrates the need for a more equitable approach from state leaders. Furthermore, many local officials have reacted to the loss of federal resources by cutting back vital services and laying-off educators and support staff. These short-sighted decisions disproportionately impact on our most vulnerable and underserved youth.

Sustainable funding for PreK-12 education is possible. We can achieve that by adjusting the budgetary roadblocks to ensure that necessary resources make it to the communities that need them. Now is the time for us to commit to the promise of public education for our current and future students. In one of the

AFT Connecticut AFT, AFL-CIO

Healthcare Higher Education Public Employees PSRP Teachers

35 Marshall Road Rocky Hill, CT 06067 860/257-9782 Fax: 860/257-8214 Toll Free: 888/398-3373 www.aftct.org

Jan Hochadel PRESIDENT

John Brady, RN EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT

Shawn Brown SECRETARY-TREASURER

VICE PRESIDENTS Joan Andrews Paul Angelucci Stuart Beckford Leslie Blatteau Dennis Bogusky Denise Bouffard Shellye Davis Sherri Dayton, RN John DiSette Kathy Fischer Carol Gale Bill Garrity, RN Trent Harrison Heather Howlett Kristen Malloy-Scanlon Lauren Mancini-Averitt Steve McKeever Walter O'Connor, RN Mike Reynolds Ally Sexton Janice Stauffer, RN Sue Saluru Mary Symkowicz Louise Williams Mary Yordon



richest states in the richest country in the history of the world, we must deliver the education our students deserve.

By increasing the ECS foundation and prioritizing special education, you can move Connecticut decisively toward a fairer approach that reflects our shared commitment to educational opportunity for all.

We appreciate your leadership and respectfully ask that you prioritize this issue in the state budget.

Sincerely,

Jan Hochadel President, AFT Connecticut

John Brady, RN Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Leslie Blatteau President, New Haven Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 933 At-Large Vice President for Teachers, AFT Connecticut

Shellye Davis

President, Hartford Federation of Paraeducators, AFT Local 2221 Division Vice President for Paraprofessionals & School-Related Personnel, AFT Connecticut

Bill Garrity, RN
President, University Health Professionals, AFT Local 3837
Division Vice President for Public Employees, AFT Connecticut

Dennis Bogusky President Federation of Technical Colleges, AFT Local 1942 Division Vice President for Higher Education, AFT Connecticut

Walter O'Connor, RN Division Vice President for Retirees, AFT Connecticut

Kristen Malloy-Scanlon President, West Haven Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 1547 At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut



Mary Yordon At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Joan Andrews At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Ally Sexton
At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Paul Angelucci President, State Vocational Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 4200-A At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Carol Gale
President, Hartford Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 1018
At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Michael Reynolds President, Bristol Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 1464 At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Mary Symkowicz President, East Hartford Federation of Paraeducators, AFT Local 4257 At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Susan Saluru
President, New Britain Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 871
At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Lauren Mancini President, Meriden Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 1478 At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Trent Harrison
President, Newtown Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 1727
At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Louise Williams
President, CSU-AAUP, AFT Local 6745
At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut



John Disette President, Administrative & Residual, AFT Local 4200 At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Steve McKeever Vice President, Middletown Federations of Teachers, AFT Local 1381 At-Large Vice President, AFT Connecticut

Mathew Hough
President, Ansonia Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 1012

Sam Norman President, Colchester Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 1827

CC: Lieutenant Governor Susan Bysiewicz
State Senate President Martin Looney
State Senate Majority Leader Bob Duff
State Senate Minority Leader Stephen Harding
State House Speaker Matt Ritter
State House Majority Leader Jason Rojas
State House Minority Leader Vincent Candelora