

For Release: Wednesday, November 8, 2023

Contact: Matt O'Connor, AFT CT - 860/221-5696, moconnor@aftct.org

## Comments on Middletown Voters' Rejection of Public Education Privatization

AFT Connecticut President Jan Hochadel made the following public remarks on Middletown Mayor Ben Florsheim's decisive election victory yesterday:

"The voters in Middletown have once again spoken loudly and clearly in favor of broad investments in their community's public schools and rejected privatization of their children's education. Yesterday, they overwhelmingly embraced Mayor Ben Florsheim's vision for delivering what all kids, not just a select few, need.

"This has been the second time the entire community has had a meaningful opportunity to weigh in on the siphoning of limited resources to a privately operated charter school. Like they did in September's Primary Election, when Mayor Florsheim secured his political party's nomination, voters chose the candidate with a track record of investing in public education.

"This message was echoed in communities far beyond Middletown. Parents from Danbury to Killingly also voted 'NO' to handing over accountability to outside operators or authority to school officials resistant to serving all their students.

"Voters sent a clear message to school boards and elected leaders alike. They expect those in power to fund Connecticut's future for all our communities' kids."

###

AFT Connecticut represents more than 30,000 hard-working women and men in PreK-12 education, healthcare, public service and higher education from more than 90 local unions throughout the state. Visit **aftct.org** for more information and follow the labor federation on Twitter at @AFTCT, Facebook at AFT Connecticut and Instagram at @aftconnecticut.

Paid for by AFT Connecticut.

This message was made independent of any political party, candidate or other political action committee.

AFT Connecticut AFT, AFL-CIO

Healthcare Higher Education Public Employees PSRP Teachers

35 Marshall Road Rocky Hill, CT 06067 860/257-9782 Fax: 860/257-8214 Toll Free: 888/398-3373 www.aftct.org

Jan Hochadel PRESIDENT

John Brady, RN EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT

Shawn Brown Secretary-Treasurer

VICE PRESIDENTS Joan Andrews Paul Angelucci Stuart Beckford Leslie Blatteau Dennis Bogusky Denise Bouffard Shellye Davis Sherri Dayton, RN John DiSette Kathy Fischer Carol Gale Bill Garrity, RN Trent Harrison Heather Howlett Sue Humanick Kristen Malloy-Scanlon Lauren Mancini-Averitt Steve McKeever Walter O'Connor, RN Mike Reynolds Ally Sexton Janice Stauffer, RN Mary Symkowicz Louise Williams Mary Yordon