

77th Annual Business Convention June 1, 2024

The Fox Tower @ Foxwoods Ledyard, Connecticut

AWARDS



2024 Awards Program

George C. Springer Scholarship

Sharon M. Palmer Scholarship

AFT Connecticut Staff Recognition

Local Anniversary Citations

Testifiers/Submitted Testimony

Unionist of the Year

Joseph H. Soifer Award

President's Award



Scholarship Awards

AFT Connecticut awards two different scholarships each year, one for our members (**George C. Springer Scholarship**), and one for spouses/domestic partners, and children of members (**Sharon M. Palmer Scholarship**). Candidates are selected based on academic promise and financial need, among other criteria. The member applicant, or the AFT Connecticut member upon whom the applicant bases their eligibility, must be a member of an AFT Connecticut local in good standing.

George C. Springer Scholarship

CRISTIAN CALLE has been a member of the Hartford Federation of Paraeducators #2221 for 7 years. Cristian is a volunteer mentor in his community working with The Bridge Family Center, and volunteers at a local West Hartford Church. He recently graduated from CCSU, where he made the dean's list. Cristian has applied to UCONN with a goal of getting his master's in social work. Cristian will be using the scholarship award to help fulfill his dream of becoming a social worker. Cristian stated in his essay "The comfort of knowing that you are not outnumbered and that there is someone that is on your side, Is very powerful."

KELLY OSBORN INGRASSIA, RN BSN is a member of the New Britain Federation of Teachers #871. She has been a nurse for over 20 years and is currently teaching and overseeing the CNA Program at New Britain High School. Kelly will be using her scholarship award to pursue her master's to become a better teacher and nurse educator. In Kelly's essay, she states "I look forward to being a union member for the rest of my career and appreciate that my children will be eligible to apply for union scholarships in the future because I am a member."

Sharon M. Palmer Scholarship

AVA LIU is the daughter of Bernard Liu, a member of A&R Employees Union #4200. Ava is a volunteer in her community as a Chinese Tutor, camp counselor to students with disabilities, and also helps out with her church youth group. Ava is also an accomplished pianist and in a competitive volleyball league. Ava has plans to study Biostatistics and Computational Biology at one of the several colleges she has been accepted to. In Ava's essay she states "If it were not for the union, I might have never seen my father growing up. Last minute briefs or hearings make for chaos in planning family time. Having a negotiated work environment creates clear expectations for both the employer and the employee's family."

=

ISABELLE SEVIGNY is the daughter of Adam Sevigny, a member of the A&R Employees Union #4200. Isabelle is an active member of many school and community clubs including the Interact club which involves planning activities for the community and has been a soccer referee since 2018 and has been a member of the high honor and honor roll since 2018. Isabelle plans on attending Western New England University to pursue a degree in Management and Leadership. In her essay, Isabelle states "I am glad my parents will always have union jobs, where they'll have stability no matter what is happening in the world. The AFT union has helped my family feel comfortable taking the next steps through life and I hope to have a future job that offers me the same recourses.

JULIETTE LINARES is the daughter of Ivette Garcia Linares, who is a member of the New Britain Federation of Teachers. #871 Juliette has been the recipient of many awards and honors over the years and a member of multiple clubs including the National Student Speech Language & Hearing Association in which she is a national member and co secretary. She has also made the Seton Hall Dean's List multiple times. Juliette is currently a student at Seton Hall University where she continues to work towards her M.S degree in Speech and Language Pathology. In her essay, Juliette states "Enhancement of workplace conditions and compensation can only be achieved when workers unite and make their voices heard as one. Unions cannot simply institute change, members must be aware, involved, and knowledgeable advocates for fairness. As an aspiring Speech and Language Pathologist, I hope to provide future generations with a clear voice and an expansive vocabulary to advocate for fairness, democracy, and economic opportunity in their profession."

Congratulations, and best wishes to all of our scholarship winners!



AFT Connecticut Staff Recognition

Jennifer Benevento, Professional Development Coord	20 years
Nickimmy Hayes, Organizer	20 years
Dan Durant, Field Rep	15 years





Local Anniversary Citations

Colchester Federation of Educational Personnel 50 years
Manchester Federation of Paraprofessionals 50 years
Middletown Federation of Paraprofessionals 50 years
Mitchell College Faculty Federation 50 years
Newtown Federation of Custodians & Maintenance 45 years
Watertown Federation of Paraprofessionals
West Hartford Residential Counselors/Dormitory Supervisors 45 years
Portland Federation of Paraprofessionals
Hartford Federation of Paraprofessionals Retirees 30 years
Hartford Federation of Teachers Retirees
Meriden Federation of Teachers Retirees
Bozrah Federation of Educational Personnel25 years
Job Corps United
Natchaug Federation of Therapists United15 years
Hartford Federation of Secretaries10 years
Community Health Services United10 years
Winchester Federation of Paraprofessionals10 years
Avon Educational Support Personnel 5 years
CREC Health Professionals 5 years

2024 AFT CT Members: Testified or Submitted Testimony

AAUP UCONN, Local 6746

Alexander Russell Adam McCready Ion Moraru Jeffrey Ogbar Mary Beth Allen Melanie Newport Michael Bailey Mitch Page Sachin Pandya Valerie Duffy



AAUP CSU, Local 6745

A. Fiona Pearson

Lyle Scruggs Aimee Loiselle MaryJo Archambault Andreg lanni Rotua Lumbantobing Anna Malavisi Sara Swetzoff

Audra King

Carina Bandhauer Shellye Stoehr McCarthy Christina Barmon Stephen Adair

Christopher Trombly

Stephen Monroe Tomczak Joane Leon Wynn Gadkar Wilcox

John O'Connor Louise Williams

Xander Tyler

Sarah Reilly

Assoc. of CT Asst. Attorneys General, Local 6574 Joan Andrews

American School for the Deaf, Local 4230 Alexandra Daly

Backus Federation of Nurses Local 5149

Heather Brauth Sherri Dayton

Fed. of Tech College Faculty, Local 1942 Diba Khan Bureau

Hartford Fed. of Paraeducators, Local 2221 Shellye Davis

Hartford Federation of Teachers, Local 1018

Carol Gale Ryan Pula

Union of Judicial Professionals, Local 4200B Charles Mastrianna

New Haven Fed. of Teachers, Local 933

Aden Gonzales Jennifer Graves **Amanda Weires** Katie Yates Ann Greene Kim Rogers CJ Burton Leslie Blatteau David Weinreb Maria Threese Serana Dr. Gregory Jackson Jr. Marlee Greenlaw **Emilio Reales** Rebecca Mickelson Erin Michaud Rose Murphy Steve Staysniak Francis DeCapua Tim Shortt

Newtown Fed. of Teachers, Local 1727

Michael Wight **Trent Harrison**

Isabelle Geller

Norwalk Fed. of Teachers, Local 1723

Mary Yordon

State Vocational Fed. of Teachers, Local 4200A

Jamie Lamitie Paul Angelucci

Univ. of CT Prof. Empl. Assoc., Local 3695

Kathy Fischer Lisa Pane

University Health Professionals, Local 3837

Bill Garrity Chris DeFrancesco Peter Baranoski

West Haven Fed. of Teachers, Local 1547

Kristen Malloy Scanlon Mary Elia—Retiree Chapter

Windham Federation of Nurses, Local 5041

Andrea Riley

Windham Fed. of Teachers, Local 1577

Rose Reyes

Windham Hosp. United Empl., Local 5099

Christopher Colanair Heather Howlett

2024 MEMBER MOBILIZATION PARTICIPANTS

Summer Lambert Rosemary Picarelli Chuck Morrell Ed Leavy



Unionist of the Year Award

Joseph H. Soifer Award

President's Award

