

October 1, 2014

Bruce Levine Mellion, President Norwalk Federation of Teachers, AFT Local 1723 74 Waller Road Bridgeport, CT 06606

Dear Bruce,

We write to extend our heartiest congratulations to you and your members working at Jefferson Magnet School on being named a 2014 Blue Ribbon Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing School.

We applaud the members of the Norwalk Federation of Teachers, as well as the Ed Personnel members, and second the comments of Secretary Duncan, when he said in his statement, "National Blue Ribbon Schools are models of consistent excellence and a resource for other schools and districts. We celebrate them for their tireless effort and boundless creativity in reaching and teaching every student."

Please extend sincere congratulations to your members at Jefferson Magnet School.

In solidarity,

Melodie Peters

Molodie Peters

Steve McKeever

Jean Morningstar

Jean Morningstan

AFT Connecticut
AFT, AFL-CIO

Healthcare Higher Education Public Employees PSRP Teachers

35 Marshall Road Rocky Hill, CT 06067 860/257-9782 Fax: 860/257-8214 Toll Free: 888/398-3373 www.aftct.org

Melodie Peters
PRESIDENT

Stephen McKeever FIRST VICE PRESIDENT

Jean Morningstar
SECOND VICE PRESIDENT

Ed Leavy Secretary-treasurer

VICE PRESIDENTS Erin Benham Dennis Bogusky Joanne Chapin Ron Chivinski David Cicarella Shellye Davis Patti Fusco David Hayes Jan Hochadel Keith Inrig Andrea Johnson Laila Mandour Patricia Mitchell Chuck Morrell Joella Mudry Karen Prendergast Randall Prose Harry Rodriguez James Romano Kathleen Sanner Martha Shoemaker Susan Truglio